Frequently Asked Questions
Where are the Classes, and where is the Range?
Currently our classroom and range is located in East Alton, Illinois. Further information and directions will be provided upon registration.
Do I Need Prior Experience with Handguns?
No prior experience is required to take the Illinois 16/8 C.C. course. We have taught a wide range of experience. Our goal is to create a foundation and build upon that foundation.
How Much Ammo do I Need?
We recommend you bring 250 rounds. On the range you will participate in several drills. These drills are to practice your weapons handling and fundamentals along with provide confidence in the utilization of your firearm. 30 rounds will be set aside for the qualification portion of the course, while the remainder will be utilized for our range drills. More than likely you will not shoot all 250 rounds, however this amount is to account for the different levels of experience.
What Handgun can I Qualify with?
The law indicates that you may qualify with any concealable handgun of any caliber. We do ask that you refrain from using magnum loads during qualification.
Do I Need to Bring a Holster?
Do I Need my Own Gun?
What Prior Training Can Be Accepted?
The Illinois State Police has created a list of acceptable prior training. You can review the list at https://www.isp.state.il.us/appriss/ccw/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf
Do I Have to Take Finger Prints to Get My Permit?
Fingerprints are optional and not required. However, providing your fingerprints, makes the background check easier allowing you to recieve your CCL quicker. If you don't provide your fingerprints, they may take an extra 30 days (above the 90 days) to review your background.
Are My Non-Resident CCW Permits Enough to Get the Credit?
The Illinois State Police (ISP) expects you will provide HALO DEFENSE TRAINING & TACTICS (as well as ISP upon your application) actual training certificates that prove you participated in instructor lead training to comply with the requirements for your non-resident CCW permit.
How do I get the Military Exemption and How Much is the Class?
The Illinois State Police (ISP) allows for an 8-hour exemption for Active, Retired, or Honorably Discharged members of the United States Armed Forces. ISP prefers a DD-214 form as certification, and to date have not authorized us to accept other documentation as proof. The 8 hour (2nd day course) is $115.00.
How do I get the 4 Hour Exemption, and How Much is the Class?
I have a Pistol/Firearm Training Certificate. How much credit do I get?
If you have an NRA Basic Pistol, NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home, or NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home certificate, you will be granted the maximum 8-hour exemption. The 8 hour (2nd day course) is $115.00.
I live in Missouri can I get a non-resident Illinois Concealed Carry License?
No. According to the Illinois Concealed Carry Act 430 Illinois Compiled Statute (I.L.C.S.) 66/40 (a), Illinois will only issue a License to a State with substantionally similar firearm ownership laws. As of yet Illinois will issue a concealed carry license to Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas and Virginia.
Do I need my Illinois Firearms Ownership Identification (F.O.I.D.) card to take the class?
No. You do not need your F.O.I.D. card to attend the class; however, you will need it to apply for you concealed carry license. If, however, you decide to take the course without a F.O.I.D. card, Halo Defense Training & Tactics is not responsible if the State does not issue either your F.O.I.D. card or Concealed Carry card.
My CCL is about to expire how do I renew it?
The State of Illinois requires a 3 Hour Renewal course to reapply for your Concealed Carry License. The class must include all applicable State/Federal laws relating to ownerhsip, storage, carry and transportation of a firearm (2 hours) and weapons handling, including the live fire qualification (1 hour).