Frequently asked questions
Click Here To Register
Q. Where are the Classes, and Where is the Range?
A. Currently our classroom and range is located in East Alton, Illinois. Further information and directions will be provided upon registration.
Q. Do I Need Prior Experience with Handguns?
A. No prior experience is required to take the Illinois 16/8 C.C. course. We have taught a wide range of experience. Our goal is to create a foundation and build upon that foundation. However, new shooters may benefit from an hour or two of private training with one of our instructors. During the private session, we'll go over basic safety, firearm nomenclature, firearm familiarization, and depending on the length of your session, we will do some live fire practice. To schedule private sessions, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Q. How Much Ammo do I Need?
A. We recommend you bring 250 rounds. On the range you will participate in several drills. These drills are to practice your weapons handling and fundamentals along with provide confidence in the utilization of your firearm. 30 rounds will be set aside for the qualification portion of the course, while the remainder will be utilized for our range drills. More than likely you will not shoot all 250 rounds, however this amount is to account for the different levels of experience.
Q. What Handgun can I Qualify with?
A. The law indicates that you may qualify with any concealable handgun of any caliber. We do ask that you refrain from using magnum loads during qualification.
Q. Do I Need to Bring a Holster?
A. Yes, a waist mounted holster is required for the range. You may bring either an inside or outside the waistband holster; however, an outside the waist holster may prove to be easier for the range portion of the class. Also, if you have a holster you have selected for yourself to use once you begin carrying, any type (shoulder, ankle, waistband), please bring it to our classroom portion. We will go over the pros and cons of the different holsters and practicing drawing from a concealed holster.
Q. Do I Need my Own Gun?
A. Yes. Please have your gun unloaded and in a case (soft/hard). Please leave any and all ammunition secured and concealed in your vehicle during the classroom portion. If you are having issues with your firearm or do not own a firearm, we may be able to provide a small caliber pistol for a fee of $25.00 plus ammunition cost.
Please notify us in advance by email, email@example.com, if you cannot bring a firearm as our inventory is limited.
Q. What Prior Training Can Be Accepted?
A. The ISP has created a list of acceptable prior training. You can review the list here https://www.isp.state.il.us/appriss/ccw/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf
Q. Do I Have to Take Finger Prints to Get My Permit?
A. Finger prints are optional and not required to get your permit. By giving the state your prints, it makes it easier for them to eliminate you from the pool of felons. If you don't give the state your prints, they may take an extra 30 days (above the 90 days) to review your background.
Q. Are My Non-Resident CCW Permits Enough to Get the Credit?
A. The ISP expects that you will provide to HALO DEFENSE TRAINING & TACTICS (as well as to the ISP upon your application) actual training certificates that prove you participated in instructor lead training to comply with the requirements for your non-resident CCW permit.
Q. How do I get the Military Exemption and How Much is the Class?
A. The ISP allows for an 8-hour exemption for Active, Retired, or Honorably Discharged members of the United States Armed Forces. The ISP prefers a DD-214 form as certification, and to date have not authorized us to accept other documentation as proof. The 8 hour (2nd day course) is $115.00.
Q. How do I get the 4 Hour Exemption, and How Much is the Class?
A. The ISP allows for a 4-hour exemption for several different certifications including Hunters Safety as well as the Utah Permit Class, and many other Non-Resident Permit Classes. However, we have not been able to find a viable way to exclude 4 hours from our curriculum. For the 4-hour credit, we allow a discounted course fee of $130.00.
Q. I Have a Pistol/Firearm Training Certificate. How Much Credit Do I Get?
A. If you have an NRA Basic Pistol, NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home, or NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home certificate, you will be granted the maximum 8-hour exemption. The 8 hour (2nd day course) is $115.00.